Iconoclasts Anonymous

Inane ravings of an irreverent slacker

An update

Posted by Jeff on May 17, 2009

I’ve decided that come hell or high water I would update this blog today. The problem is that I don’t have a whole lot to talk about! I usually write on here when I’m pissed off or irritated over something I see going on in the world. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of things that bug me that I could talk about… There’s Oprah giving Jenny I-Like-To-Cause-The-Deaths-Of-Innocent-Children McCarthy her own TV show… There’s no end of conservative right-wing asshats saying and doing things that make me cringe for the human species… Hell, there is apparently some economic crisis going on right now. Who knew??

But I think that ultimately, the topic of this post will deal with the reason I haven’t been writing that often recently. That reason is simple. Stanford University Physics. Or, more specifically, the gross inability of your humble narrator to get motivated toward my studies this whole quarter. The people at this school (both faculty and students) are nothing less than brilliant! I love the fact that I am constantly challenged by being surrounded by some of the brightest people I’ve ever met.

The problem I’ve been having, however, is a severe feeling of discouragement in regards to my chosen area of study. The idea of becoming a professional physicist has been becoming less and less appealing to me along with the thought of staying in school until I’m 40 to get a PhD. It might just be an early onset of senioritis or maybe it’s just because it’s spring time and none of my classes are particularly interesting this quarter, but I’ve been in a motivation slump. How do I pull myself out of this? How can I bring myself to care about my studies again? I really want to but it’s difficult to enjoy lectures when the proffessors can’t teach their way out of a paper bag and obviously don’t give a shit about their students (physics profs at Stanford are certainly not hired for their teaching abilities).

2 Responses to “An update”

  1. Shawn said

    What got you into physics in the first place? Has that raw interest changed? Does the subject matter immediately at hand still interest you, and the professors just suck that badly? Or has the stuff covered in day to day become as un-stimulating and wearing as wading through a molasses flood?

    Out of pure selfishness, I hope you find your physics muse again soon. I haven’t even really had a chance to pick your brain yet.

  2. Jeff said

    Thanks man. I’m sure it’ll get better, I’m just over-worked right now.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

