Iconoclasts Anonymous

Inane ravings of an irreverent slacker

I’m gonna be a Californian!

Posted by Jeff on July 23, 2008

So, I’m getting ready to continue my undergraduate education at Stanford University. I’d say that I’m pretty excited about it, but I’m mostly amped over having gotten accepted!

I just found out today that Stanford only accepted 21 transfer students out of 1200 applications this year. I guess that makes me special. Well, maybe I can live up to whatever they expect from me but I don’t know. I hope so!

The thing is, though, I’m not looking forward to actually moving. I actually LIKE the Champaign area and have just gotten settled in here. I have friends, a nice house, a great job… And now I’m going west. The way of the Donner Party I suppose.

California will be fun, but it’ll take some getting used to. Especially considering that the day I move in will be my first visit to the Bay Area… So I’ll be exploring the San Fran/San Jose area for a few weeks in September, anyone know any righteous spots I should check out?

One Response to “I’m gonna be a Californian!”

  1. Shana said

    I have a million places you should check out! We went last august and didn’t want to leave. Muir woods was my favorite place. (Redwood forest north of San Francisco) Also, you have to go to fishermans wharf and get a chowder in a sourdough bread bowl. Check out the sea lions while you are there. There is also a Zoltar machine like from the movie big 😀
    Golden gate park is a million ways of fun. There are all kinds of neato things to look at. I can send you some pictures if you’d like.
    The palace of fine arts is amazing!! You will have a blast checking that thing out. Right behind it is a hands on science museum. It was closed when we went but I’m sure that you love those things like I do.
    There were other things but I have to get to work. I’ll try to email you some more highlights.

    Shana

Leave a Reply

 
