Iconoclasts Anonymous

Inane ravings of an irreverent slacker

Propaganda 8

Posted by Jeff on October 23, 2008

As many of you know, I’m officially a Californian now. In fact, I got my voter registration card in the mail last week! Thumbing through the California General Election info guide today I was reading the part about Prop 8. If any of you have been living in a homophobic cave the past several weeks, Prop 8 is a measure to try to re-illegalize same-sex marriage in California. I already know which way I’m voting, but I figured that it would be a great idea to read the other side of the argument as well since I’m always open to changing my mind.

What I found in reading the info booklet is that every argument for Prop 8 was either built on very shaky assumptions (such as that it would force children to learn about gay marriage in school) or were simply very thinly veiled bigotry. The most offensive part to me was this:

“We should not accept a court decision that may result in public schools teaching our kids that gay marriage is ok.”

Really? I mean, REALLY??? And why not? If it’s ok to be gay (as this article kept implying) then why would same-sex marriage not be ok? Am I the only one who thinks that this is just an attempt to cover bigotry with flowery language?

I decided that there had to be better arguments for Prop 8 out there somehwere. So I looked. Following is the best I could find..

Now, the only way ANY of these arguments hold water is if you accept certain assumptions. Those assumptions are simple. In fact, those assumptions are really just one assumption. Being gay is wrong! The only way that any of the arguments for Prop 8 make sense is for you to already hold that belief. Quite frankly, that makes you a bigot. It doesn’t matter what your reasons are for believing this, you are a bigot. Plain and simple.

I know what you are thinking… “I have nothing against gay people, as long as they don’t put it on display!” Well, expecting someone else to hide something about their nature that you are perfectly free and willing to display about your own is bigotry. And ‘religious reasons’ don’t hold water either. Religion justifies nothing that you don’t already believe to start with. For example, the same part of the bible that condemns homosexuals also condems eating shellfish. Don’t see many christians abstaining from shrimp? Me either. There is no pre-existing prejudice against the lobster so that part of the bible is just ignored.

The short and simple is that if you don’t think that gays and lesbians should be allowed to get married just like you can, then you are an evil, intolerant, vile, ignorant bigot.

Enjoy your day.

4 Responses to “Propaganda 8”

  1. Well said. I am tired of being called intolerant for pointing out bigotry where I see it, especially when I fully support their right to be bigots…so long as they don’t expect me to pass any laws legitimizing their bigotry.

  2. Angela said

    Hi,
    Those religious believers should also remember this:
    According to you, God (whoever/whatever this is) made man/woman in his own image.
    Now, this either means that God is Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Hetrosexual etc all rolled into one or:
    God has allowed us to be whatever we are meant to be at birth.
    You may say that Gay people choose to be gay; this is crap.
    You say this because it conflicts with your beliefs and you appear to be too rigid to change or accept that not everything you believe is accurate.
    God supposedly made trees, so if you find a tree that acts like a bush, do you say that God did not make this tree act like a bush, the tree decided to act like a bush of its own accord?
    Or do you accept that this tree was made by God and this is the way it is because it’s a different kind of tree??
    Hope you’re keeping up!
    Do not get stuck in one set of beliefs. To have a belief isn’t wrong and to have faith in that belief isn’t wrong either. But you have to understand that people do exist whose mere existence can challange that belief. Therefore, is it just blind faith?
    Regards,
    Angela.

  3. Lauren said

    hi jeff, it’s lauren we met at folsom. joshua’s friend.he sent me the link to your blog.

    i’ve been pouring my heart and soul into the no on 8 campaign and we’d love to have you come help out. if you’re willing to come out to the city- come volunteer! we need all the help we can get!

  4. detroitus said

    I’d love to help Lauren, but I don’t see myself getting away from campus between now and election. I am trying to raise what awareness I can by calling out peoples’ narrow-minded views for what they are though…

Leave a Reply

 
