Iconoclasts Anonymous

Inane ravings of an irreverent slacker

Why are psychics surprised to get arrested for fraud?

Posted by Jeff on December 20, 2008

There are times that I almost catch myself thinking of psychics as harmless delusional crackpots that provide entertainment for people with the money to throw away. These times generally don’t last long, however, since it’s always a matter of a very short period of time before I see something like this.

Janet Adams, 42, was arrested Thursday night and is being held in lieu of $500,000 bail at San Mateo County Jail.

Her alleged victim visited her Psychic and Crystal Vision shop in the Laurelwood Shopping Center in San Mateo “on a lark” in January for a tarot reading, said Steve Wagstaffe, San Mateo County’s chief deputy district attorney.

Adams persuaded her to make return trips, Wagstaffe said. On her third visit, Adams began to shake and cry, telling the woman that her husband would die of a heart attack if she didn’t immediately pay $13,000 for “special prayers,” the prosecutor said.

The woman promptly went to the bank and got the money, authorities said.

Over time, this disgusting skidmark on the underpants of society conned that little old lady out of $80,330! It happened a few months ago in San Francisco as well. Only that time the so-called psychic conned over a hunfred grand out of some woman after convincing her she was ‘cursed’. This type of thing is happening all over the world! These are just two examples of incidents withing a few miles of my house.

People ask what’s the harm? Well, this is the harm. Innocent people who simply don’t know any better or have never been taught critical thinking skills get abused while those of us who know better just sit back and nod knowingly at those poor schmucks and their ‘harmless fun’. The more people who are aware of the dangers of listening to/trusting scammers that call themselves psychics or mediums, the fewer potential vistims these asshats have. Those of us who know how to properly approach these topics need to stop being polite when a friend tells about their ‘psychic experience’. People tend to dislike skeptics and for good reason. A skeptic forces someone to face the idea that their deeply held beliefs might not stand on rational foundations. That is bitter medicine, but necessary to eliminate those who act as a virus on our society. Scammers and con artists have a much harder time selling their bullshit when people are more likely to question their premise.

10 Responses to “Why are psychics surprised to get arrested for fraud?”

  1. Kay said

    The thing is.. I try to feel bad about this sort of thing… I want to feel for the innocents… but there is a horrible part of me that wants to roll my eyes and say “you get what you deserve when you pay crackpots to tell you the future.”

    Mean spirited, perhaps.

    But sheesh.

  2. Jlitt said

    That’s some pretty messed up stuff right there. But honestly they are no better or worse than all the other business gurus out there. I mean how would most of them make money if everyone used critical thinking. Only difference, the business people typically get away with scams. ::Sigh::

  3. Jeff said

    Well, fraud in any of it’s forms deserves to be punished. However, any legitimate business offers a real product or service in exchange for the money they squeeze out off their customers. Psychics sell nothing but lies and false hope.

  4. Jlitt said

    Very true, I feel the same way about Disney World.

  5. anne said

    What I’d like to see is the churches prosecuted for making false promises. “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do, he will do also; and greater works than these he will do; because I go to the Father. Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.” and “I tell you with certainty, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.”

  6. Maureen said

    I work as a phone psychic. I’ve been reading the cards for ears and have given and still give free readings but I have to make a living, is all. At 56 what else can I do? Was never too brilliant at jobs anyway, too dreamy and disorganised for offices, too slow for catering. My psychic skills are reasonably ok and I work hard to improve them. I think there is something in it, who really knows or cares. Plus why go through life making it even harder than it is when belief in God etc gives you a bit of faith and hope. I wouldn’t knock faith or hope, not one bit and that is what I try and give my clients.
    Get rid of the phone-lines and you’ll put a lot of people out of work? Is that what you want? Plus I loved the bit about lots of business going bust if more people used critical thinking.

  7. Jeff said

  8. Good way of explaining, and good article to get information regarding my presentation subject, which i am going to convey in university.

Leave a Reply

 
